From where we source our collagen to whether or not vegan collagen is readily available to the public, prospective customers are rightfully curious about the key ingredient in Vital Proteins® products. So, is collagen vegan? In short, the collagen in our products is not vegan. We haven’t yet found a plant-based collagen source that meets the standards of our current product line-up.
While our hydrolysed Collagen Peptides, for example, are free of dairy, gluten and added sweeteners, the product does contain one singular ingredient that, in itself, is not vegan: collagen.
Below, we explore collagen further: what is collagen, the benefits of collagen, where collagen is made from, the best ways to get collagen, as well as why, as a result, collagen is not vegan. We do, however, offer up vegan Vital Proteins alternatives. Scroll on to take a look.
What are the Benefits of Collagen?
Let’s start with a refresher on the health benefits of collagen. Collagen is important because our body’s natural collagen production begins to decline as we age. Our bodies may no longer absorb nutrients as well or synthesise them as efficiently.
To ensure the body has enough of the ingredients required for collagen production, it is important to supplement with collagen and its necessary amino acids.
Collagen is special because it contains an abundance of the three amino acids that you won’t find in meaningful amounts in many other foods (glycine, proline and hydroxyproline).
What is Collagen Made From?
Our bodies naturally produce collagen – a major component of hair, skin, nails and joints – but the production of collagen slows down as we age. This is why adding collagen to our diets has become our mission.
Our famous hydrolysed Collagen Peptides is bovine-based and sourced from the hide of Brazilian cattle.